Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Up Coming Event!

Well here we are in the duldrums of winter and it’s getting more and more difficult to stay motivated to train and maintain my current level of fitness.  What I need is a reason or an event to shoot for…..Hmmmm, what can I do?  There’s no triathlons going on here in the great North West as the temperatures are WAY TOO COLD!  There’s not even road races at this time of year.  (Probably too hard to interest volunteers to stand out in the cold!)

So what’s a guy to do?  Hmmmm, well, I do have a birthday coming up.  A rather BIG one.  Well, not like turning a 100 or anything, but it’s big enough that on that day I’m going to head over to I-HOP and order off the “Senior” menu!  That’s right….I’m turning 55!!!!!!!!!!  Whew!  How in the heck did it come to this?  How is it, that it was just a few days ago I was laying on the grass in my yard at 917 Ironwood Road, North Palm Beach, Florida and looking up at the sky and wondering where my future would take me.  I was probably 10 or 11 years old, and now, here I am, huddling in my house with the heat turned up and two jackets on wondering how I’m going to celebrate my BIG 55th birthday?  Whew…how time fly’s.

Well, in trying to figure out what to do on my birthday I decided it had to include something about 55.  55 miles, 55 moments, 55 of something.  So I went to my two Ironman training buddies and asked what they thought I should and we came up with the following:

SWIM: Swim 1 mile
BIKE: Bike 40 miles
RUN: Run 14 miles

For a total of 55 miles.

Wait a minute…it’s winter here in Spokane.  There’s no way I’m going to swim in a lake or ride outside in December!  Oh yeah, there is such thing as an indoor pool and Computrainier bikes inside a gym, so maybe this might just work!

So the plan is, on December 29th @ 8:00 AM, Steve-o, my training buddy, and I (Gerry thinks we’re crazy!) will head over to the new “Y” and start my epic adventure of doing 55 miles on my birthday.  (And THEN go to I-HOP!)

So stay tuned as I’m sure we’ll have some stories to share about our adventure of running and maybe biking in VERY cold weather here in Spokane.

TriMoot out!

December 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Happy birthday buddy! Before you know you will be as old as me (I stopped aging a few years back).

    Comment by Spokane Al | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Looking forward to spending a 55 miler with you on your b-day, but your only as old as you let your self be, and i know you, your one of the youngest people i know
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY big guy.
    See ya soon
    Steve-o

    Comment by warrst | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey Paul,
    I know I know ive been slow on responding to this great post, but i am slo-mo after all right HA!
    Hey folks dont let him fool ya, hes the gem to train with, I feel so blessed to have a training partner that shares values in the sport and in our Lord, i couldent ask for anyone better to spend those long training sessions with!! To share the miles and our lives at the same time has been hugh. I would have to agree that alot of your highlights last year have also been big ones for me. I pulled my first marathon, knocked out two HIM’s including the black diamond, but I really enjoyed the WTS as well, great times, may not be the best training strategy but it did get us out there for those long weekend sessions, and when we reflect on our black diamond weekend it dident hurt us.
    I wanted to thank you for being a loyal training partner and friend and listening to me ramble on and on and on for mile after mile.
    Looking forward to another great year again, as we are already in the midst of our CDA IM training, im sure we will be seening more of each other than either of us cares to admit.
    Bless you my Brother and see you soon, very soon, uh like tomorrow.
    Steve-o

    Comment by warrst | January 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

