Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

EWU – Sprint Triathlon

Did a Sprint Triathlon with my good buddy Steve (don’t follow me I’ll get you lost) Warrington on Saturday and here’s the Race Report!

Well?….I think I’ll put this on my must do yearly race as its low key, well run, and just a good time (cheap too, only $15.00 not $25 unless you wanted a shirt).

However….my running buddy beat me! Turkey! I think he’s training too well!

Normally when we do tri’s together, I beat him out of the water, he catches me on the bike and then I’ll catch him on the run. This time we finished our pool time together because we both “agreed” that this would just be a “fun” race, but when we got on our bikes about 3 or 4 miles in I was already getting tired and he got about a 1/2 mile lead on me and stayed that way pretty much the whole way. So I thought, no biggy, I’ll catch him on the run….nope, didn’t happen!

We’ve been training together and pushing each other and one of the things I showed him was the thing called “gliding” and it works. (Basically it’s taking shorter strides (which he has a tendency to overstride) and increasing the cadence of your feet turnover. This gives your legs a chance to recoup a little and your breathing also will recovery AND you don’t really slow down. In most cases I find that I actually speed up, and this works on hills as well.)

Well I guess he’s got that down pretty well cause I saw him starting up the hill as I was heading down and I thought I would be able to catch him but it didn’t happen. I NEVER saw him! DANG! He was FLYING! Not sure exactly what our time was but I think he had 1:07:?? And I had 1:12:??. Not sure, the results are not out yet.

But I will do this again as it’s close, and the weather was PERRRRRFECT! (Although last year it was raining). The course is not tough, but not easy either. There is a rather steep, short hill right near the start and then it’s a mild downhill and climb to the turnaround (6 miles) but when you come back and you see that hill, it doesn’t seem all that steep until you’re on it, and I was totally in the wrong gear and wasn’t able to change it as I was already standing up and grinding away.

Then you start the run off on a little steep hill and you don’t really get a chance to catch your breath until about 1 mile, but that’s another downhill, which of course you have to come right back up at the 1.5 turn around.

All sorts of levels of athletes were present: There was a guy with a full carbon bike, solid wheels and was out of the pool after doing 500 meters in about a minute! (Well, it seemed like a minute, that guys was FAST!) Then there was a 5 year old girl who ran the 3.1 miles with her Mom. She was SOOOO cute! Also I saw a least three father and sons doing the tri together which is always cool. There were a few ironman (and women) doing the race as well.

All in all it was a nice way to start the day and season, although I never thought I would like doing a tri in a pool, it wasn’t too bad. We had four people in our lane and just discussed our finishing times and lined up accordingly and it worked out well. We passed the father son team in the pool twice, but saw them at the end and they both had LARGE smiles on their faces so I know they had a great time together.

So that’s my race report. I still want to put together another report about the Windemere Marathon but have been too busy to do that.
So for now…TriMoot..OUT!

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

