Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Nerves

OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!  

Why am I so stinkin nervous?  I feel like I’m ready to crawl out of my skin!  AAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dang!

I don’t recall being this nervous for any race!  I mean I remember being VERY concerned looking at the swim portion of my 1st triathlon up in Colville back in 2006.  I remember asking the race director, “Are you sure that’s the right distance for the swim?  It looks awfully BIG!”.  I think I asked her twice!

But man oh man I don’t recall feeling this much anxiety!

Okay, big breath….SIGHHHHHHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

It’s just a marathon.  It hasn’t changed.  It has always been and always will be 26.2 miles.  So what’s the big deal?

The BIG deal is this time I’m running for a time goal of 3:45:00 so that I can qualify for the Boston marathon in 2010.  So I guess that explains this antsy feeling along with having all this energy and not having an outlet for it.

My poor wife has had to endure my crazyiness feeling for the last week.  I’ve been on edge, short with her and I hate to repeat myself, but feeling like I’m about to crawl out of my skin.  Whew…Not a big fan of this feeling.

But it’ll be all over tomorrow.  

Today, Friday the 15th, I’m going to head over to the race expo at 5:00 after work and pickup my race packet and peruse the booths.  I usually buy some kind of trinket, like a new pair of socks or sunglasses, just something to remember the expo by.  One thing I won’t do is try any of the food.  THAT’s a mistake!  The last thing you’d want to do the night before your big “A” race is eat something that puts your GI track into a spin. (That was tactful, yes?)

Once again this silly little blog has helped me to relax a little.  Nothing like putting it down on paper(?) to help relieve a little stress.

I will report back on Saturday or Sunday with my race report, for good, or for sad.

You can also follow me on Twitter, TriMoot.

Okay, so this email I just sent out sums up how I’m feeling right now:

 

Oh man oh man oh man!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It’s almost time!!!!!!!!!!!!
I can’t bear it another minute!  
I feel like I’m about ready to crawl outta my skin!!
I’VE GOT TO GO RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh man! I don’t think I’ve EVER been this excited, nervous and just plan scared!
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Okay..maybe it’s just the coffee.

Oh man oh man oh man!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It’s almost time!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t bear it another minute!  

I feel like I’m about ready to crawl outta my skin!!

I’VE GOT TO GO RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh man! I don’t think I’ve EVER been this excited, nervous and just plan scared!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay..maybe it’s just the coffee.

TriMoot – Out!

May 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Good luck buddy! You have done the work and now it is time to reap the rewards.

    P.S. Be careful out there. It looks like the temps could be a tad bit toastier than we are used to.

    Comment by Spokane Al | May 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

