Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

What a WEEKEND!!!!!!!!!

Yahoo! Bloomsday Weekend!

This has always been an exciting weekend here in Spokane. Over 40,000 people crowding into our little city getting ready to run a somewhat tough 7.46 miler with a pretty good long steep hill.

We have the picking up of our race numbers.
The perusing of the Expo with all it’s free tasty treats.
Picking up some little trinket at the Expo to help remmeber this years Bloomsday.

But this year is different. Different in a good, and bad way. Well, I guess not bad, but more of a sad way. This is the 1st year that I don’t have ANY kids running or walking in Bloomsday with me, nor any of them attending the Expo with me. Sigh…..

But what IS exciting is I have a 30 mile run on Saturday before Bloomsday! Oh yeah baby! 30 stinkin miles! I CAN’T WAIT!!!!!!

I know, I know, you’re saying, “What? Are you outta your mind?!!” Well, maybe just a little, but that’s okay too.

You see, according to the Jeff Galloway method of running and his schedule that I’m following in my hopes to get ready to qualify for the Boston Marathon, I’m SUPPOSED to run this long on this weekend.

Yes, I’ve been slowly building up each and every weekend. Last weekend my running buddy and I did a 25 miler and although near the end we were starting to feel fatigued, we were able to finish with a smile on our face and a great feeling in our guts. And then there were the preceding weekends of 21, 19, 15 milers, and all the speed work in between.

You know what? Those speed workouts take more out of me and my legs than the slow endurance runs on the weekends. Really!

So anyway, this weekend is going to be SOOOO great!

But, I won’t actually be “racing” Blooomsday like I did last year. Last year I had a goal of doing a sub 60 minute race and was fortunate enough to complete that with a 55:20. But since I have a 30 miler the day before this race, I’m just going to jog/walk it and REALLY enjoy it.

So heading over now to pickup my race number and then browse the Expo and then back to work.

Tonight I do all the prep for tomorrow’s long run, I’m SOOOOO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!

TriMoot, OUT!

May 1, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Good luck on the long run, maybe we’ll meet up after Bloomsday.

    Let’er Buck!

    Comment by TheCableGuy | May 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Chris! How’s your training going? Want to do the Grand again?

      Comment by trimoot | May 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

