Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Late Late Late!

Jeepers what’s wrong with me?!  I love doing this blog but have not been feeling up to it latelty.  

It’s not like I haven’t done anything since I last wrote, I’ve been faithfully doing my M-W-F-S runs, sometimes with people, but most times without.  And they’ve been in LOTS of SNOW!  We had over 30 inches in one storm and then another 12 inches in a 2nd storm.  I LOVE IT!

Okay, maybe I’m not in love with shoveling it, although my wonderful, kind, & strong son-in-law did most of the shoveling, I really do enjoy going out when there’s fresh snow and running while it’s snowing.  It’s so quiet.  It’s like I’m part of the natural event that’s going on at that time.  I’m just another part of the storm.

By the way a tip for all you winter runners:  Put 1/2″ #6 or #8 sheet metal screws in your shoes and you won’t slip so much!  (More on that later)

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!:  I AM GOING TO KONA!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, I am going to Kona, Hi. but not for the reason you other tirathlete’s may be thinking.  My wife and I are heading over there this February to visit our two daughters and a son-in-law.  One in Pahoa, south of Hilo on the east side of the island, and one in Waimea on the north end of the island.

But do you think there’s going to be a small TriMoot triathlon?  You bet your gel packs there is!  And guess who’s going to come in 1st?  ME!!!!!!!!!!!!  Okay, I’ll also be last, but the point is I’ll BE THERE!  Swimming in the same water, riding and running on the same road, hearing the same cries from the crowd, Go TriMoot GOOOOO!!!!  Okay, maybe that’s just in my head, but you get my point, “I’ll be there…”. (This is said in a hushed voice)

One of the best parts is I’ll actually be able to talk to our on site reporter, KakaNaKala…Kaka for short, who was reporting live during the last Kona World Championship race.  We blogged about that a couple post ago, click here for more info: (here

We will also be visiting the location an actual organic farm where they grow things…well, organically and live off the land.  Although from the report I got from the other daughter it seems some of those things are living off of them, especially in the out house, but that’s another story for another time.

Suffice to say I am SOOOO excited about visiting this big beautiful island and getting a chance to see things we’ve never seen before like spent gel packs and perhaps an old water bottle along the road left over from the Ironman race.  (oh wait, I have one already.  A Christmas gift from the on site reporter in Kona)

Oh yeah, I heard something about seeing a volcano park or something, that’ll be fun too.

Can’t wait!

TriMoot…out!

January 16, 2009 - Posted by | Athletic, Humor, Runner, triathlete

2 Comments »

  1. I was just in Kona in 2007 for my Honeymoon! It was awesome! To be able to stand right where the swim starts and also to stand where the finish line was in October was incredible. I hope to one day to cross that finish. What are your daughters and son-in-law doing out in Hawaii? Keep the blog GOING! I love to read stuff like this. it gives me such motivation. especially in these winter months.
    One last thing…I want to know more about the screws in the shoe thing because here in MA we have a least 2 inches of ice on the back road where I train and I feel like I should bring my ice skates some days.

    Keep the posts coming and talk to you soon.

    -Mango

    Comment by Mango | January 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. Now that was very strange..But Interesting

    Comment by Jim M. | May 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

