Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Pre-Tiger Tri Report

Well, here it is the night before the night before my 2nd Olympic Tiger Tri in Colville, Wa.

I did this two years ago and felt like I was about to die!  Not that I wasn’t prepared, I was.  But, I did something that I had never done before and that was take a Hammer Gel WITH Caffeine!  THAT was a BIG mistake!  As a result my heart rate sky rocketed and I couldn’t get my breath, at ALL!  I took 6 or 7 strokes in the swim and had to stop to try and figure out what was going on.  A little later I had to call a boat over as I was freaking out!  I told them, “I don’t know what’s going on, I can’t get my breath!”.  And they were like, “Well, just relax, get your breath and train more next year!”.  Well, at least it felt like that’s what they said.  But really I did train!  I was doing early morning swims at Lake Coeur d’Alene, ID., two to three times a week with a buddy from work.  We would start down stream and swim into the current and into the lake then turn around and go back.  I mean I was ready!  But I really believe the gel did me in.  So guess what?  I’m NOT going to take ANYTHING before the swim!

Time?  Hmmm, planning on….having a good time.  In other words, not going to worry about it.  Going to enjoy this and just let things happen as they happen.

I did get a shorter neck on my bike.  I have a 58cm bike and as I was riding a couple of days ago I realized I just needed to get closer to my handle bars so today I went in and switched the neck for a shorter one…probably around 2 inches shorter.  So far, at least on the ride home, it felt better.  Once I get the aero bars I’ll know more.

Well, that’s it for now.  Once I’m done I’ll put up my report.

TriMoot…out!

PS: Two years ago: 33 Min Swim, 1:45:47 Bike, 1:13:25 run UGH! (Temp: 100+, Total 3:40:01)
Projected Time:      25 Min Swim, 1:33:20 Bike, 0:52:24 run ( Temp: 85, Total: 2:50:44)
Completed Time:   21 Min Swim, 1:24:09 Bike, 0:54:38 run (Temp: 83, Total: 2:43:54)

July 17, 2008 - Posted by | triathlete |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

