Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Troika Nerves

Okay..I know this is strange..I don’t have my “big” race until August 3rd but I am already VERY NERVOUS about it! I mean I can’t stop THINKING about it!

I know I have other races coming up:
   July 13 – NUTS: Newman Unorthodox Trail Scramble: 4 to 6 mile run, 10 – 20 mile bike, 1/4 mile swim, 2.5 mile kayak. (This is a group of folks from the Flying Irish run on Thursday nights and should be more fun that work…..Hopefully!)
   July 19 – Tiger Tri: An Olympic sized tri in Colville, WA. (Click Here to read more about it)

But for some reason I am absolutely ….dare I say it?….SCARED OUTTA MY MIND about doing this Half Ironman!  AAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dang!  1.2 Mile Swim, 56 Mile Bike, and a freaking half marathon all in one day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Let’s break it down:

Tell me why I’m doing this again?  I can’t seem to remember.  Fun?  naw…that can’t be it.  STUPIDITY!  YES!  That’s it!  I took a bunch of stupid pills one day and then immediately signed up for this crazzzzzzy race!  AAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!  Okay, okay..simmer down…relax…it’s only a “HALF Ironman”.   It’s not like this monster event that will take all day to complete.  Oh wait…hmmm, let’s see….

Swimming 1.2 miles:  Well I did an ocean swim of 400 meters in 10 minutes so I should be able to do this in 45 minutes.

Bike 56 miles: Well “IF” I could average 17 mph then I could complete this in 3:18:00 or so.

Run 13.1 miles: Another “IF” I could average 8:15 per mile I could complete this in 1:48:00 or so.

Which would bring the total to…(drum roll): 5:56:00.  YIKES!  Almost 6 hours?!!! I don’t know.  That is right in the middle of the age group results from last year, but I REALLY don’t feel ready for this.  HELP ME JESUS!!!!

Okay…now that I’ve said all these things out loud….I feel better….sort of.

TriMoot…..(scared)

** This is what I really think will happen:

SWIM: 1.2 Mile swim is equal to 1931 meters.  Last night in the pool I did 100 meters in 2:07 on average.  So that means I “should” be able to do the swim in 39 minutes.  But since I’m just trying to ‘finish’ the race, let’s say I shoot for under 50 minutes.

Bike:  In all my training rides that have been typically 20 to 25 miles my average speed is always around 17 mph so that means at 56 miles it should take me 3 hours and 20 minutes, but again, I’m just trying to finish so I need to take it easy, so shoot for 3:40:00, that’s just over 15 mph average.

Run:  Oh my gosh..I STILL have to do a half marathon!!! AAAHHH!!! (WHY WHY WHY DID I SIGN UP FOR THIS??!!!)  Okay okay, simmer down.  So, I did the CdA Half Marathon in May in 1:38:44 which is a 7:32 pace.  No stinkin way!  So, let’s back it down to 8:30 pace, which would be 1 hour and 51 minutes.  Hmm, that still seems too fast considering how tired I’ll be so let’s say under 2 hours for the run.

Total Time:  Swim: :50:00, Bike: 3:40:00, Run: 2:00:00 = Six hours and 30 minutes total.  Help!

July 8, 2008 - Posted by | triathlete | ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] (PS: Check out my blog entry for July 8th.  I was almost dead on! (Here)) […]

    Pingback by Troika - My 1st Half Ironman « Trimoot’s Weblog | August 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

