Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Singer Island Triathlon Report

Yeah!  THIS was a fun fun race right in my home town area of North Palm Beach, Florida.

I got up at 4:30 AM after just 4 1/2 hours of sleep and left my buddies house, Rod Dettman, at 5:15.  I ate breakfast on the road from McDonalds.  I stopped and got a dry bagel with scrambled eggs and a large coffee.  Not a bad way to start, but I would have prefered my routine oatmeal.

Arrived at the race site around 5:45 and setup all my gear in the transistion site, then walked over and got marked and picked up my race chip.  That left LOTS of time to walk around and get nervous, take some video and do some podcasting.  I love the part about getting your number and your age written on your arms and legs.  (Mine are still showing on Monday, I was very careful not to wash them off.)Good morning Triathletes!

The sunrise was pretty spectacular and although I took a video of it I didn’t get a very good picture.

Rather than type out every little detail, here’s the jest of it:
Sprint Triathlon: 400M Swim, 10 Mile Bike, 3 Mile Run
Time: 1:07:54, Place: 7th out of 12th in my age group, 110 out of 268 over all.
Swim: 10:34, TI: 2:07, Bike: 30:23, T2: 1:51, Run: 22:59

For more details listen to my Podcast:

On the way to the race: (Here)
Still on the way to the race: (Here)
At the race, 18 minutes before the start: (Here)
Race Report, Part 1: (Here), Race Report, Part 2: (Here), Race Report, Part 3: (Here)

 


 

 

June 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. WOOOOHOOO Dad! I’m glad you were able to do your tri. Those are some great pics! You look like a real pro coming out of the water! Love ya!

    Comment by Pinkmoot | June 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. Uguhh – that must have been horrible, starting out the day at 7:00 with a temp of 81, having to endure a gorgeous sunrise on the beach, tossing yourself into a warm chunk of salt water, getting the sand stuck between the toes, taking a 10 mile cruise on the bike under the palms… all this while we enjoy snow in June up here! Nice job man – Sounds like an incredibly fun race and if I can get a sponsor to pay for the trip, I’m doing it with you next year!!!

    Comment by Bikeyard Junkie | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Yeah…it was terrible…..let’s do it next year!

    Comment by trimoot | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. […] Third:Well this one was a highlight but also very sad.  I did a small Tri down in my home town of Riviera Beach, Florida in June and it was such a cool event  because each mile was like a trip down memory lane.  […]

    Pingback by End of Season Summary « Trimoot’s Weblog | February 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

