Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Upcoming Race: Spokane River Run – 25K

This Sunday @ 8:45 in the morning I will embark on my 1st 25K trail run…..IN THE SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!

  Well, why not?  I’ve been training in the snow all winter long, so why would I expect not to have to run a race in it?  But as I’ve said on previous post, I’m not really racing this event as it is my 1st trail run and I don’t want to sprain, tweak, or break anything.  I’m anticipating a relaxed safe enjoyable romp through the snow, cold & gray sky’s.  Doesn’t that sound appealing?

  It is officially a race, but I am going to treat it as my weekly long run and not attempt to race it.  I don’t normally do trail runs, even though I love them, so I’m going to plan on being very relaxed and ‘careful’ about this race.  The last thing I want to do is to push it and wind up injured.  I’ve worked pretty hard all winter to stay in shape and I don’t want to chance messing up my season by doing something I haven’t prepared for.  Oh, I don’t mean mileage wise, I’m ready for the 15.5 miles, but I haven’t practiced running on uneven ground and over tree roots covered in snow.  So if I do a 9:30 or 10:00 pace, I’m fine with that.  (Hmm, as I said that there’s a part of me that says, “What? 9:30 pace?  Come on!  You can do MUCH better!”.  Maybe, but I don’t want to.  I want to come away with a feeling of accomplishment and no injuries.

Here’s a quote from the gal who won last years race:

”I have been running for over 20 years and The Spokane River Run is one of the very best races I have ever experienced! Anyone who enjoys off-road, cross country running will LOVE this event. I was thoroughly impressed with how well the 25K was marked. There was not a single time that I was confused about which way to go, and there were even volunteers manning aid stations out in the middle of the forest. The Spokane River Run is tranquil and it is challenging. It is an exhilarating experience for the body and spirit. Thank you for bringing this run to Spokane!”
Lori…25k ( 1st place women’s division)

Well, there you have it.  So come on out, sign up and have a great run through some pretty cool trails!

TriMoot…OUT! Spokane River Run

April 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

