Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Another Day in Paradise

Feb 29th – Leap year day in Spokane.

What a great day today was!  B-E-A-U-Tful!  There were high clouds but the sun was trying to shine through and the temp was close to 50!  Had a good run even though my lower back was killing me!  Shouldn’t have done the leg presses on Thursday.  It always seems to aggravate my back.  But I was able to enjoy the run and tried to keep it low key since I have a 12 mile long run tomorrow, that should be fun. 

Well, hope everyone had a good day, and hope and pray for a great weekend.   God Bless!

March 1, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

6 Comments »

  1. […] Another Day in Paradise « Trimoot’s Weblog Another Day in Paradise « Trimoot’s Weblog […]

    Pingback by Another Day in Paradise « Trimoot’s Weblog « Trimoot’s Weblog | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. Tris – Ugh!

    Why the leg presses? How does that help your training?

    Comment by Jack Stevison | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. Jack,
    Hey thanks for leaving a comment.
    Well, I do my legs, and in particular leg presses since that’s probably my weakest area. I don’t bike particularly well, and so in combination of squats and lunges, I do the presses just to help build strength. However, if I’m not very careful when I do them, I wind up hurting my back which is what I did this week. Doesn’t seem to bother me when I run, but bending over or sitting is very painful. So I will avoid do the leg presses in the future. Not worth the pain.
    What do you recommend to help strengthen quads? (Besides 4 hour bike rides!)
    Thanks.
    TriMoot.

    Comment by trimoot | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. My tri-athlete friend, that quad puzzle is just that, a puzzle. I have been a spectator at quite a few triathlons and it always cracks me up when they transition from the bike to the run. I’ve tried the workout myself and I was running funny for a mile or two until things got loosened up.

    I tried going to a gym when I was younger and I told the trainer, “you can put me through any workout you deem fit for my upper body, but my legs are out of bounds for you.” It just seems to me that weights can cause more problems than benefit, though I have no data to back up that statement.

    If I could make one possible recommendation though, without knowing anything about your training or your schedule, it would be to reduce the weight and increase the reps. Try to make it an aerobic workout when you do weights. Leave the power lifting for guys trying to win the strongest man contest.

    I’m interested in your response to this.

    Happy trails.

    Comment by Jack Stevison | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. Jack,
    Thanks so much for your comments, I very much appreciate it.
    I agree about using less weight and more reps. I sort of alternate between the two. One week I’ll use the heavy weights (well, not THAT heavy, just for me), and then the next week I bump it down low enough that I can do 20 reps of the same thing. I find that seems to work the best for me. I feel stronger and find that I can still maintain the higher weights and even go up a tad after a month or so.
    I think for me, doing the weights has been the biggest improvement to my over all health and fitness. I’ve been doing this for about three years and it has really transformed my body.
    I have very little body fat, I was measured last year at the Bloomsday expo and it was less than 9% and I would imagine it’s gone down even lower.
    Two years ago I was moving pretty close to 190 lbs with a 34+ waist and now I’m 163ish and less than 32 waist.
    I know it’s more than just doing the weights as I also started consistently running and doing some biking and swimming, but it seems to me that what really has transformed me from being a soft over the hill 50+ year old couch potato was just be active! Stay busy, whether it’s stuff around the house or doing a long bike ride on the weekend, just get out there and do.
    Plus, for me, I HAVE to have an event that’s out in front of me. I can’t do all this exercise and not compete in something. I just can’t train for trainings sake. There’s got to be something I’m working for to keep me motivated to continue this insane work regiment that’s I’ve put myself on.
    And last but not least, I have to take time off once in a while. I have to allow myself to recover once a month. This has been sort of tough to learn, but I’m finally starting to get it. You don’t (shouldn’t!) work out 6 days a week, every week of every month. Or at least drop it back once a month, which I’m finding, really has good benefits.
    But, I’ve gone on too long as it is.
    Again, thanks for you comments, and it’s always a pleasure to talk with other athletes to compare notes and see what we’ve learned over the years.
    Hope to chat with you again.
    TriMoot.

    Comment by TriMoot | March 4, 2008 | Reply

  6. Apologies, way late responding.

    Congrats on the weight loss, nice trim job.

    I’m the same way with having a target on the calendar. I just signed up for a 10k in three weeks and I’m not even back in shape yet. But having it out there will keep me wanting to improve and focus on the training.

    Days off: I take Monday and Friday off every week. No workouts of any kind.

    As for weights, the only thing I do is throw my own body weight around with pushups, pullups and situps, if only to keep the stomach strong as it helps support the back muscles that keep is upright.

    Cheers.
    Jack

    Comment by Jack | March 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

