Trimoot's Weblog

Triathetes, running, life

Boston Marathon 2013

Boston Marathon 2013

Congratulations to all the 2013 Boston Marathon runners today!

As I’m watching live today from work, I can’t help but recall it was only two years ago that I was able to run the Boston marathon officially and complete a life time goal.

As I listen to all the cheering and watch as hundreds turn onto to Boylston Street for that final push to the finish line I remember my finishing …..walk.

What a feeling.

My Dad of 86 years and my wife were waiting right at the finish line.  It was as I would realize later, the last time I would run.

************************************ NEWS FLASH !!!!!!! ****************************************************
Link to Live Coverage: http://livewire.wcvb.com/Event/117th_Running_of_Boston_Marathon
Link to 1st Bomb: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=046MuD1pYJg
Link to Video of the 2nd bomb going off 10 seconds after the 1st one did: http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2013/04/live-updates-boston-marathon-explosion/
*********************************************************************************************************

The above was written just minutes before two bombs went off at the Boston Marathon!
OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!  OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!!

I AM STUNNED!  SHOCKED!!!!!  IT IS SO HARD TO IMAGINE!

WE WERE RIGHT THERE!  RIGHT THERE TWO YEARS AGO!  HUGGING AND CRYING WITH PURE JOY AT FINISHING A LIFETIME GOAL…and now..now..I just can’t believe this is happening.

I’m watching the news right now as stunned runners who have been told the race has been cancelled are walking around with emergency blankets wrapped around them with stunned looks on their faces.

I am so shocked!

boston-bomb-site-finish-line afterthebomb

bombsite1.jpg-largebombexplosionBoston-Marathon-explosion-Getty-image boston-marathon-explosion

April 15, 2013 - Posted by | triathlete

1 Comment »

  1. How shocking that you’d just written that when the bombs went off. Thankfully, it sounds like several friends of friends who were running in this are safe.

    Comment by wildninja | April 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

